365 Days of Writing | #15 The Dots of Wall Street

WordPress Writing Prompt: Connect the Dots
Scour the news for an entirely uninteresting story. Consider how it connects to your life. Write about that.


Source: Wall Street Ticker Tape from The Social Trader blog
— a rare departure from my own photographic and artistic works

The ticker scrolls in green  and red dots that reveal the financial health of our country. For the most part I just can’t get excited about the financial ups and downs of Wall Street. It’ll all change tomorrow. And all those dots, numbers, and letters don’t mean anything to me. I mean I don’t know how to decipher them.

With that said, I forced myself to read the article on The Street, Awaiting The US Stock Market Mood Swing to see how I could connect the dots. Yes, so uninteresting to me that I clicked the page three times, got distracted, and finally read it.

I don’t understand the language. It’s foreign to me. Percentages. Ups. Downs. GDP growth. And what does our economy have to do with China and Iran and Greece? Well, I’m not a complete dunce. I know we do a lot of business with China. I mean most of the products we buy are made there. And Iran. Well, we’re tied to the price of oil there. Greece. Still baffles me. Doesn’t matter.

This I could sort of get my head around: This year should be a record year for transactions of all kinds (mainly mergers and acquisitions). If Wal-mart buys Macy’s  then I may have to shop at a different location. And if I were on board with the anti-Wal-mart folks for political reasons I’d have to find a different place to buy my clothes altogether.

And Wall Street is notorious for being a fickle place. Well, that’s an understatement. I do understand that! I do understand that this can make investors nervous. When you can’t track trends how do you know where to place your money. But this dot doesn’t connect for me because I have no money to invest! Well, that’s not true. I do have some, but it just sits there and grows and shrinks dependent on what all the rest of the investors do.

I know I should care more and move what little money I have around to earn the best it can, but I see it as a long-term deal and it’s not worth it to me to get all excited about the mood. Eventually, the market will swing in my favor. I just wait.

About Lissa A. Forbes

Writer, Graphic Designer, Photographer, lover of nature. http://www.lafcustomdesigns.com/p/about-laf.html
This entry was posted in 365 days of writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

