365 Days of Writing | #13 The Music of My Youth

WordPress Writing Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo
What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

When I was six I had my own little record player that played plastic records. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth. I’d sit in my room and sing along.

From the time I can remember, my mother had music playing in the house.

Ray Conniff
Frank Sinatra
Jerry Vale
Dean Martin
Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass
more Ray Conniff

As a teenager I had an all-consuming crush on Glen Campbell. I bought the tabloid magazines and made a scrapbook, owned every album he every recorded, and watched the Glen Campbel Good Time Hour every week. That was the only TV show that I was allowed to watch in lieu of what my mom wanted to watch.

After I moved away from home at 19, I still played a lot of the music my mother had played when I was young. It was romantic and allowed me to dream that maybe one day I’d be married and be able to live my mother’s life. She didn’t work outside the home. She was a full-time homemaker. Regardless of my short-sightedness, she insisted I go to college. I also fancied …

Janis Ian
Phoebe Snow
Dan Foglberg
John Denver
Jim Croce (even though he’d died the year I graduated from high school)

Until I got married, the first thing I did when I got in the house was turn on the stereo … the one I bought with my own money when I was 15. My very first purchase. A Sony turntable with speakers to play vinyl LPs 33rpm.

When I got married, my husband didn’t like music playing all the time, so my habits changed until we separated at which time I went back to my old habits for a while. I transitioned to new age instrumentals which I found quite soothing and relaxing after a full day at work. It helped me  deal with the kids to have music in the background while I made dinner.

Robin Spielberg
Jim Brickman
David Lanz
Alex Grant
Kevin Kern

After moving from Arizona to Colorado I got out of the habit. Don’t know why. Just did.

Music has been an important part of my life for many years.

Oddly, one memory stands out above all the rest. When I was nine, I got in trouble. I took something from the base (AFB) quick stop. I realized after I walked out the door that I hadn’t concealed it well, but thought since I wasn’t stopped, I was home free. Not quite. By the time I arrived home my father, the Colonel, had been notified. “What were you thinking?” he said. I didn’t know, but what I did know was it was wrong. Dinner was abysmal. No one spoke. Koki, the family poodle lay at my feet. And in the background played Beyond the Sea by Ray Conniff. Funnily, it is still one of my favorite songs! But shoplifting is history.

About Lissa A. Forbes

Writer, Graphic Designer, Photographer, lover of nature. http://www.lafcustomdesigns.com/p/about-laf.html
This entry was posted in 365 days of writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

