365 Days of Writing | #12 28 houses 1 home

WordPress Writing Prompt: Our House
What are the earliest memories of the place you lived in as a child? Describe your house. What did it look like? How did it smell? What did it sound like? Was it quiet like a library, or full of the noise of life? Tell us all about it, in as much detail as you can recall.

The first thing that came to mind is the verse from Crosby, Stills, and Nash’s song:

Our house is a very, very, very fine house with two cats in the yard,
Life used to be so hard,
Now everything is easy ’cause of you and our—

Although I don’t care for cats, there was most often a dog around the house.
I find it interesting how music can bring such powerful memories. Then …

I thought of the houses or apartments I’ve live in
Twenty-eight all together
Born in Germany
Adopted
Moved to US
Moved
Moved
Moved … and more

But in all that, there was one thing
Me
In me I am home

I have a choice about what surrounds me
a choice about who I love
a choice in what I do

Things I love:

  • the smell of pumpkin spice, apple pie, and vanilla
  • snuggling with my pup, Kobi
  • listening to soothing new age music
  • walking in nature and making new discoveries
  • taking pictures … especially everything macro
  • post-processing and creating art
  • meeting friends for coffee and a chat

Home is where I am. Please don’t assume I had an unhappy childhood. It’s just hard to focus on one when I’ve had a total of 28 addresses and 14 of those before I graduated from high school.

About Lissa A. Forbes

Writer, Graphic Designer, Photographer, lover of nature. http://www.lafcustomdesigns.com/p/about-laf.html
This entry was posted in 365 days of writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 365 Days of Writing | #12 28 houses 1 home

  1. ceayr says:

    Hello, and warm greetings from another nomad.
    I love your piece, it is an excellent summation of people like us.
    It is a strange life, is it not, being always restless, on the move?
    But I cannot imagine being static for too long.
    Although I am considered odd because I have no deep roots, I too know where home is.
    I feel free.
    Best wishes
    PS I would have left this on you About page but it does not allow comments.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

