365 days of Writing | #6 Lazy is Transient

WordPress Writing Prompt: Lazy Learners
Is there something you’ve always wanted to learn but haven’t gotten around to? What is it and what’s stopping you from mastering the skill?

I’m having some trouble with this topic and I’m not sure lazy and learner go together. There are lots of things I have learned over my lifetime, how to:

  • use a 35mm camera and then a DSLR
  • sew, knit, quilt
  • ride a horse
  • drive a car
  • change a disposal
  • change a tire
  • plan and execute a trip
  • use InDesign and Photoshop
  • navigate social media
  • create websites and blogs
  • … the list goes on

In these endeavors, Lazy was nowhere in sight. I dove in and persevered until I learned. In many cases, I continue to learn. Taking pictures and post-processing them is a current passion. In these activities Lazy has no control over me whatsoever.

When I’m engaged and enjoying the process of learning and experimenting, Lazy knows not to come around. She won’t be heard, so what would be the point. She wouldn’t even be acknowledge because I’m so engrossed in what I’m doing.

On the other hand, there are times when Lazy sits right beside me on the couch. I talk to her. I really want to clean out this house, get rid of all the things that don’t serve me anymore. I want to plant a garden so I can have fresh food and herbs. I’d like go sit in the swing out back and feel the breeze on my face and watch the leaves flutter, learn to just be.

But Lazy can be such a good companion. She doesn’t question my avoidance. In fact, it makes her happy. She doesn’t berate me, she just listens to my “shoulds.” She embraces me in a cloak and says, “it’s ok, there will be another day,” until years have gone by. She allows me to be apathetic, lethargic, and weary. Sometimes I need her to slap me upside the head and say, “get to it, you’re wasting your life.” But then she wouldn’t be Lazy, would she. She’d be Hard-working and Diligent!

Many times Hard-working and Diligent do come to visit me. In fact, they can make me a bit manic. I am productive for hours until Lazy tells me the couch is waiting. Until then, I spend hours processing photos while I watch TV, reading books and blogs, and not ignoring Sweet Tooth. Lately Diligent has helped me with my job search and I’m getting interviews. That’s all good.

So, I would have to say Lazy is transient. She comes and goes. The things I want to learn or do that don’t get done are not really Lazy’s fault, but a lack of interest or reason to pursue it. Therefore, I don’t intend to blame her. In addition, sometimes it looks as though Lazy is influencing me but she isn’t. Looks can be deceiving.

I will continue to learn new things as that is who I am. I love to learn. The next thing on my list is whatever comes with new employment. Maybe I’ll dabble in sketching and poetry.

About Lissa A. Forbes

Writer, Graphic Designer, Photographer, lover of nature. http://www.lafcustomdesigns.com/p/about-laf.html
This entry was posted in 365 days of writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 365 days of Writing | #6 Lazy is Transient

  1. lifelessons says:

    Sounds to me like the sum result of all your visitors is that you are a well-balanced person. Nothing worse than someone constantly lazy or constantly busy! Enjoyed your post. http://judydykstrabrown.com/2014/07/03/if-only-i-could-play-guitar/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

