365 Days of Writing | #5 Life’s a Candy Store

WordPress Writing Prompt: Life’s a Candy Store
You get to be a 6-year-old kid again for one day and one day only — plan your perfect 24 hours. Where do you go, what do you do, and with whom?

I prefer not to go back to when I was six. At that age I felt left out of a lot as my cousins all said I was too little. Too little to play kickball, too little to play baseball, too little to ride a “big” bike. Later, I realized my youngest cousin was only two years older than I. It doesn’t matter now. I’d rather think about the perfect 24 hours for six times ten years old. You can do the math.

Before I move on though, one of my very favorite things to do when I was six was swing. A long time ago the seats were made of wood. I loved those swings because they did’t squish my legs together like the swings of today with the rubber sling swing. So sadly, I don’t swing anymore at the playgrounds. A hammock is a nice substitute though.

Life really is a candy store if you think about it. Oh yes, most of us have to work to fund our interests, but we get to make our own choices. I love that. My candy store is:

  • walking outside and breathing fresh air
  • discovering the gifts of nature to photograph
  • post-processing images in Photoshop
  • enjoying an engaging movie
  • visiting a friend and eating my favorite ice cream–coffee and chocolate with chocolate chips
  • meeting a friend for a writing coffee at a favorite coffee shop
  • reading a biography or mystery
  • watching a crime series on TV

Now, that’s a lot for one 24 hour period, so having only one 24 hour day to plan, I would go to Glacier National Park in Montana. I’ve never been there.

I’d go with my friend, Susan. I met her in the hospital when we were both fighting for our lives. We both had leukemia. She loves to travel and one of her goals is to go to every national park in the United States. I could help her check off one.

First, we’d rent an RV and get on the road. Once there, we’d walk and talk–all day. Take pictures of the wildlife and landscapes. We’d visit the visitor’s center and see if there was anything we couldn’t live without. Lunch and ice cream would have to be on the agenda and then we’d splurge for dinner finding a classy restaurant that served local fare–bison, trout, huckleberries.

Then home to see what gems I captured with my camera and share with Susan! If something strikes me, I’d make it into art.

That would be a perfect day!

About Lissa A. Forbes

Writer, Graphic Designer, Photographer, lover of nature. http://www.lafcustomdesigns.com/p/about-laf.html
This entry was posted in 365 days of writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 365 Days of Writing | #5 Life’s a Candy Store

  1. You would love Glacier. Fancy restaurants you need to go to Kalispell or White Fish. We plan to go back in two years for Glen’s 50th, although it will be a surprise for him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

